Zucchini Cakes… yumm!

One of my favorite foods used to be crab cakes, that was before I turned 18 and found out I was allergic to crab!!! Gasp!!! I know! It was awful to find that out, I loved him it. But I adapted and overcame. Just kidding, it wasn’t big enough of an issue to “get over.” So years ago I found a recipe of a mock crab cake that you used zucchini instead. But it required eggs. Which, after the birth of my daughter (and probably before a little), I had developed a serious allergy to eggs!! So again I was on the hunt for a good substitute for my beloved crab cakes. And… success!!! Hubby even said these were the best version I’ve ever made!! So here ya go, I found a recipe on Pinterest and did a little different. I followed this recipe and got 5 smaller cakes, I will double it when I do it again. Keep in mind, I’m a pinch and shake type of cook and not always a measure out cook. I’ll try to give both. Hope you enjoy!!! 

Ingredients

  • 1 large zucchini 
  • Salt
  • Cajun seasoning (a few shakes, or about 1 tbsp)
  • Garlic powder (a few shakes or about 2 tsp)
  • Onion powder (a few shakes or about 2 tsp)
  • Whole-wheat flour (little less than 1 cup) 
  • 1 tsp baking powder  
  • 2 tbsp grape seed or olive oil for frying. 

Instructions 

  1. Shred zucchini. I use my food processor or small short strips. Sprinkle with salt and let sit for 15+ minutes to dry out, draining a few times. Then wrap in a towel and squeeze out water. 
  2. Mix seasons (onion powder, garlic powder, Cajun seasoning, flour, powder) with the zucchini.
  3. Make into small balls (about the size of a golf ball or ping pong ball) and squish a little to make flatter. 
  4. Heat oil to medium-high heat in a skillet. Oil should cover the bottom just a little bit. 
  5. Cook cakes in oil on one side until crispy brown, about 5 minutes. Then repeat on the other side.

Leave a comment